Bits & Pieces

September 19, 2008

I’m way overdue to write something – anything. 

It’s just been a little hectic lately.

In addition to normal church responsibilities, I have recently begun teaching both the High School Sunday School class, and the Junior High Wednesday evening youth group at Walnut Hill.  It has been a while since I have worked directly with the teens (other than speaking here & there at retreats), but I have really enjoyed it.  I now regret not having done it in our previous churches.

We are in the middle of a heavy time for our kids’s sports participation, with 2-3 football games each week for our boys and our daughter’s soccer practices and games.  Our oldest son, Andrew, has also begun making college visits. He went to Mars Hill College a few weekws ago, will go to Tusculum College this weekend, Emory & Henry College in a couple weeks, and Chattanooga a few weeks after that.  He’s also hoping to squeeze in a trip to University of the Cumberlands, but I don’t know when that might be…

On top of all that, I was appointed to a presbytery commission. 

It’s been busy, but I’ve still been able to do the important things. 

Among them was watching as my younger son, Matthew, scored his first-ever touchdown yesterday during his Freshman team game against Sullivan East.  Until this year Matthew had always played on the line.  He moved to Tight End, and has caught a pass in each game this year – yesterday for a TD! (Unfortunately, Central still lost.)

And today, with everything that needed to be done in the office completed, I snuck out to the mountains just to read and pray.  I feel refreshed.  I’m ready to go.

My expectation is to begin with some new posts next week.  DV.

Leave a Reply

