Jeremiah: The Blogging Prophet

June 9, 2009

Adventure

I’ve been reading through the book of Jeremiah this past week. 

One of the “tricks” I have found helpful in maintaining a sense of orientation as I navigate the sea of prophecies of judgement the Lord gives to Jeremiah in chapters 2-26, is to view each of the prophecies as separate blog posts.  Without this mental practice separating the various prophecies, I have a tendency to read them as if they were one big narrative.

When I read theprophecies as one narrative I get confused, and lose the meaning behind both the Lord’s declarations and Jeremiah’s attitude and response.  But seeing each in their own context I get a sense of the character of God, the position of Jeremiah, and the transcendant pertinence from Pre-Exilic Judah to the 21st Century American Church.

Leave a Reply

